Ajax loader
of 1
Open Lightbox
1892 Munich Secession
4 April 2022 - 130th anniversary

The first Secession, founded in Munich in 1892, emerged from the "Münchener Künstlergenossenschaft". Its members were famous painters such as Franz von Stuck (1863-1928), Heinrich Zügel (1850-1941), Peter Behrens (1868-1940), Lovis Corinth (1858-1925), Adolf Hölzel (1853-1934) and Max Liebermann (1847-1935). They all felt committed to modern and contemporary forms of expression. They defined themselves primarily through common art-political goals. Arnold Böcklin was one of the honorary members of the Munich Secession, his works were presented at the Secession exhibitions and were regarded by many younger painters as inspiration.

In 1913 the artists' association 'Münchner Neue Secession' (MNS) was founded, in which former members of the Munich Secession gathered under the painter Albrecht Weisgerber, the first chairman.

As early as 1910, the artist group 'Neue Secession' had split off from the Berlin Secession, initially led by Georg Tappert and Max Pechstein, in which mainly expressionist artists such as Kirchner, Müller, Werefkin and others exhibited together.