Ajax loader
of 1
Open Lightbox
1905 'Die Brücke'
7th June 2020 - 115th Anniversary since the founding of Die Brücke in Dresden, Germany.

Die Brücke (The Bridge),
group of German expressionist artists formed in Dresden in 1905, after which the Brücke Museum in Berlin was named.

Founding members were Fritz Bleyl, Erich Heckel, Ernst Ludwig Kirchner and Karl Schmidt-Rottluff. Later members were Emil Nolde, Max Pechstein and Otto Mueller.

The seminal group had a major impact on the evolution of modern art in the 20th Century and the creation of expressionism.