Ajax loader
of 1
Open Lightbox
1945 - The Yalta Conference
The Yalta Conference, held from 4 to 11 February 1945, was the second of three wartime conferences held between the "Big Three" - the Allied forces of the United States, the United Kingdom and the Soviet Union, represented respectively by Franklin D. Roosevelt, Winston Churchill and Joseph Stalin. In the Livadia Palace near Yalta in Crimea, these three leaders convened to discuss the re-establishment and rebuilding of Europe after the end of the War. It was agreed that Germany, once defeated, would be split into four occupation zones and that free elections would be allowed in Eastern Europe. A Polish "government of national unity" was to be created, comprising both Communists and non-Communists, although by the time the Big Three met again in Potsdam in July and August, Stalin had reneged on that promised and non-Communist leaders in Poland had already been imprisoned.

Part of the World War II collection